Hello my friends … Didja like how I started by sayin’ that? How about that? Does that sound folksy and Joe Six Packy enough?

As you know I’ve never been much for politics. I’ve not participated in many elections, much less payed attention to the happenings in Washington, D.C. I was part of the apathetic masses for a long time. I only took real interest as recently as five years ago, when the prospect of seeing the current President, who has been accurately described as a high functioning moron, take another shot at Office. He won. Again. And continued, with Cheney to systematically wipe their asses with the Constitution and Bill of Rights. I’ll spare you the details as I’m sure you’ve ignored them far too many times in the past eight years as it is.

Read more

Share/Save/Bookmark

Paul Begala, who called Bush a high functioning moron on Anderson Cooper 360, responded to this BS in an interview with Brokaw.

Here’s the transcript:

Obama, he was asked about this in a debate in the primaries with Hillary Clinton sitting there, and George Stephanopoulos of ABC asked him about it. He answered it, pointed out that the despicable acts this guy committed were committed when apparently Barack Obama was eight years old.

And I think Governor Palin here is making a strategic mistake. This guilt by association path is going to be trouble ultimately for the McCain campaign. You know, you can go back, I have written a book about McCain, I had a dozen researchers go through him, I didn’t even put this in the book. But John McCain sat on the board of a very right-wing organization, it was the U.S. Council for World Freedom, it was chaired by a guy named John Singlaub, who wound up involved in the Iran contra scandal. It was an ultra conservative, right-wing group. The Anti-Defamation League, in 1981 when McCain was on the board, said this about this organization. It was affiliated with the World Anti-Communist League – the parent organization – which ADL said “has increasingly become a gathering place, a forum, a point of contact for extremists, racists and anti-Semites.”

Now, that’s not John McCain, I don’t think he is that. But you know, the problem is that a lot of people know John McCain’s record better than Governor Palin. And he does not want to play guilt by association or this thing could blow up in his face.

Share/Save/Bookmark

So I’m fishing around the shitheadery.com site today. You know looking around the way you walk around your house or car, checking the gutters, kicking the tires, wiggling the fence posts. You know nothing is wrong, but you’re bored and want to make sure everything checks out all the same. I check the links, look at it in different browsers and at different resolutions to see what other people see. Of course there’s always a friend who calls me to let me know that it doesn’t look that great on their end. They, of course happen to be looking at it with an Opera browser on Linux or on a ginourmous Mac monitor at full screen.

In any case. I get to the guestbook section and some idiot has used it for his own personal advertising. I specifically set the thing up to avoid bots and the like. I had issues on another website that forced me to dump the entire guestbook. It’s nice to know who visits your site and cares to say hello. The irony that this douche would commit an act of shitheadery on a site devoted to shitheadery is too good to be true. I mean what are the odds?

Here’s the post:

Subject: Authentic shades A-Z Brands
Name: glasszilla
E-mail address: glasszilla1 [at] mail [dot] ru
Location: USA
Homepage: http://www.eyeglassesandshades.com

#8 Comment (Thu Nov 1, 2:59:49 EDT 2007):
autentic shades and eyeglasses
Authentic eyewear and shades at discount prices. Trust your eyes. Secured payment by PayPal throught
Yahoo! Store.
autentic shades and
eyeglasses

You would think that spelling would be a consideration, especially when you’re advertising. But this store has “autentic” shades that you can pay for “throught” PayPal.

So this is a sales tatic? Sign guestbooks with the address of a Yahoo website. The e-mail (sale@abs-sunglasses.com) belongs to another site, abs-sunglasses.com , which is one ugly site. It’s got little snow flakes falling across the screen that distract you from actually looking at anything or wanting to buy anything for that matter.

Here’s a novel approach: You buy on line because it’s cheaper. The fact that there’s no rent, buildings, employees, and a low overhead you’d think merchandise would be cheaper. I found the same glasses they have on their site for $50-$100 less at a store in my little town.

The point is not that these glasses are a rip off or that the site design hurts your eyes (something you should consider when designing a site for glasses), but that some asswipe went to a site that had nothing to do with glasses and signed the guestbook for the sole purpose of self promotion. And signed the guestbook of a site that is dedicated to pointing out idiocy like this very act.

If you want to drop these idiots a line feel free. They put their info up for just that purpose. And it’s only fair to contact them. Here’s the e-mail again: sale@abs-sunglasses.com

And yes I let the idiot know this post was coming and how I felt about their guestbook entry.

Share/Save/Bookmark

this site hosted by:
Web Hosting By ICDSoft.com